How to Apply to the Firefighter Program?

To apply for admission into the Fire Fighter Program, each applicant must:
  • Not smoke or use tobacco. Tobacco use is strictly prohibited by Florida Statue 633.34.6. If you are a tobacco user, you will not be allowed in the class and cannot become a firefighter in the State of Florida.
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Have not been convicted of any felony or of any misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude.
  • Be a high school graduate or possess its equivalent (GED).
  • Have passed a physical examination by a licensed Florida physician within the past six months, meeting the requirements of the Division of State Fire Marshal Bureau of Fire Standards and Training Medical Examination Form, FST-2, including EKG and hearing test.
  • Be of good moral character.
  • Possess a valid Florida Driver’s License.
    Show your driver’s license history include it with your application packet. The driver’s license history must be a certified record from a court house. Applicants with excessive points or who have had their licenses suspended within the last three years will be disqualified.
  • Take the National Firefighter Selection Inventory (NFSI). Main Campus testing information: The main campus Assessment Center hours are 8 am – 5:30 pm on Monday and 8 am – 2 pm on Wednesday. No appointment is necessary to test. Come in anytime during the stated hours, and a staff member in the front lobby will register you and direct you to the Assessment Center. There is a $30 charge for the NFSI. A picture ID is required.

Admission to the Program will be based on the following:

  • Approved application including the NSFI results.
  • Applicant must pass Physical Ability Test (PAT) evaluation.  Orientation is held at Institute of Public Safety.
  • After you have passed the PAT, you  will be given information on the procedures to apply and pay for your Florida Bureau of Fire Standards Training (BFST) background check and your State Exm on the State Fire College website.